Magic

Standard

I really hate when in hind sight I wish I’d taken before pictures, because I seriously worked some magic tonight!  While grocery shopping I received a frantic phone call from a family member whose girlfriend (whom I’ve never met) had a major color disaster.  She had highlighted blonde hair and had asked her stylist to give her some chocolatey brown lowlights but was instead sent home with dark burgundy/purple hair with pink streaks.  Her stylist wouldn’t fix it until next week and she was DESPERATE!

I tend to be very cautious about re-coloring hair immediately after it’s just been colored because hair tends to be in a pretty fragile state for about 48 hours after coloring, so I usually recommend that clients just wash their hair several times with a strong clarifying shampoo to see if that helps before taking more extreme measures.  Unfortunately in her case, washing it was just causing the dark burgundy to bleed into the blonde causing it to be more pink.

I decided to try putting a Malibu treatment (a deep cleansing treatment used most often to remove product/chemical buildup, or discoloration from chlorine or hard water) all over her hair, put a plastic cap on it and set her under a hood dryer for about 20 minutes.  My hope was that the pink would be removed from the highlights, and the burgundy would be toned down a little bit.  I figured I would probably have to then put an all over color on to even out the colors and tone everything down.  But as luck would have it, the end result was way more than I could have ever hoped for.  As I rinsed out the Malibu, I could already see that the highlights were a perfect shade of blonde and I didn’t see even the slightest hint of pink or purple anywhere.  Instead, it was a very rich, warm brown!  Just like she was looking for!  No color or toning needed!

Things like this are what really make me love my job!  Looks like I have another brand new client this week!

Leave a Reply

